Canada’s premiere reader’s choice award honours 12 authors for exceptional books


Vancouver, BC – The Canadian Book Club Awards (CBCA), Canada’s largest reader’s choice award, announced today the winners of its 2023 prize. Twelve authors have been chosen by a dedicated, independent panel of readers, who voted on the winners from three finalists in each category.


This year’s winners represent a broad range of English language literature, from a riveting fiction that takes readers on a road trip across Canada, to a poignant memoir exploring race, womanhood and identity, to a thrilling adventure through prehistoric Alberta and everything in between, these twelve books have delighted Canadian readers.


Since 2019, the Canadian Book Club Awards has been dedicated to upholding the principles of ​​inclusivity, accessibility and diversification within Canadian literature. As the largest reader’s choice award in the nation, CBCA further distinguishes itself as the only award in Canada that accepts books from any publication stream and genre. In doing so, CBCA expands the literary-award horizon to books and genres that, while widely-read, may not otherwise receive recognition in the form of award designations and media accolades.


In an extraordinary year that broke all previous submission records, making the final selection for each of the 12 categories could not have been more challenging for CBCA’s Verified Readers. “Canadian readers are passionate about the books they consume, and the tremendous number of submissions we have received this year proves that readers are more engaged with reading than ever before. It is a great privilege to recognize these exceptional winners and their dedicated fans for the 2023 award,” said CBCA Program Director, Kristain Oliveria-Barnes. 


The winners and finalists in each category for the 2023 Canadian Book Club Awards are listed below.



★ WINNER — The List of Last Chances  by Christina Myers (Caitlin Press)

Finding Callidora – Stella Leventoyannis Harvey (Signature Editions)

Stork Lake: Tales from a Wall of Hats – L.C. Reid (Independently Published)



★ WINNER — Fuse by Hollay Ghadery (Guernica Editions)

Mom On Wheels – Marjorie Aunos (Ingenium Books Publishing)

Making the Rounds: Defying Norms in Love and Medicine – Patricia Grayhall (She Writes Press)



★ WINNER — Soul Excavation: An Exploration and Discovery of Self Through Fear, Failure, and Quantum Physics by  Lesia Daria Kohut (Hybrid Global Publishing)

Does This Divorce Make Me Look Fat? – Marcella Dodge Webster (TSPA The Self Publishing

Agency Inc)

The Promise of Psychedelics: Science-Based Hope for Better Mental Health – Dr. Peter

Silverstone (Ingenium Books Publishing Inc)



★ At Home Anywhere: Feel At Home Wherever Life Takes You – Rachael Lynn (The Dreamwork


It’s Not You It’s Your Brain (How mental processing limits your success) – Keith Cornies (AIM


Seventeen To Millionaire – Douglas Price (Independently Published)



★ WINNER — Awfully Hilarious by Heather Hendrie (Independently Published)

Music from a Strange Planet – Barbara Black (Caitlin Press)

The MomBabes: A Motherhood Anthology Volume 3 – Christina Walsh and Carolyn Turkington

(TSPA, The Self Publishing Agency Inc.)



★ WINNER — How to Love Your Neighbor by Sophie Sullivan (St. Martin’s Griffin)

What’s Not Lost: A Novel. – Valerie Taylor (Aspetuck Publishing)

The Outcast – Eve. M Riley (Snugrox Publishing)



★ WINNER — All The Broken People by Amy Rivers (Compathy Press)

Box of Secrets – Susan Jane Wright (Ozzy Imprint)

2359 Hours – Jack B.S. North (SA Jeejeebhoy)



★ WINNER — Mantle of the World Ruler by Kate Gateley (Friesen Press)

The New Empire – Alison McBain (Woodhall Press)

Stage Fright – Diane L Kowalyshyn (Independently Published)



★ WINNER — Blooming: Poetry for Seasons of Change by Chiara Mason (TSPA, The Self Publishing Agency Inc.)

Time Has Come – Graham Wardle (Guiding Light Publishing)

Perfectly Flawed: poetry for change – Malak Kalmoni Chehab (FriesenPress)



★ WINNER — The Little Girl by Hieu Pham-Fraser (Friesen Press)

Three Little Pigs – A Hockey Story – Jocelyn Watkinson (Sleeping Bear Press)

Igor Beaver – Don Smith (CritteraWeek)



★ WINNER — The Dinosaur Encounter: The Alberta Episode by Lisa Oatway (Tellwell Talent)

River of Crows – N.P. Thompson (Inky Cove)

Monster Match: Frankinschool Book 1 – Caryn Rivadeneira (Red Chair Press)



★ WINNER — In One Life and Out Another by J Mercer (Bare Ink)

No Ordinary Cats – Lisa Erixon (Friesen Press)

Falling Star – Michele Kwasniewski (Rand-Smith)



The Canadian Book Club Awards are open to any English language book published within the past 6 years. Self-published, traditionally published and hybrid-published books are welcome. Authors must hold copyright to their book, and books must be available for purchase in physical form on Amazon. Submissions for 2024 are now open. Visit the Canadian Book Club Awards website for more details.






Nicole Magas

Zg Stories



The Canadian Book Club Awards

Kristain Oliveria-Barnes, Program Director